What next?

I haven’t painted in a while. I feel like I have exhausted my figures. I could go thru my drawings and pick new poses but to what end? I could do more Amazon/Greek figures, but again to what end? The last painting I did recently I drew the Doryphorous over the colored shapes.  It kind of clinched it for me.  Too much thinking about art, history, process, etc.etc. I could do a series of shapes but once again to what end? I already see it. Light colors, dark ones, tints, tones, shades, curvilinear/rectilinear ,gaaa, it reads like  2D design assignments. I have blank canvases ready to go and they sit in the studio. The graduate profs used to say that many MFA graduates don’t continue making art. I was determined not to be one of them and have painted  fairly consistently since school until now. I keep asking myself what next? So far no reply.

I like the comment about De Kooning hovering between abstraction and figuration. It is what I have tried to do in my painting. I also like the quote from Kahlo saying she painted lots of self portraits because she was alone so much. I have some 20″ x 20″ canvases, maybe I’ll do some self portraits. Then again maybe I’ll clean the brushes and turn everything against the wall and close the studio.

Leave a Reply

